OperaGeek meets Operavore

For the past few weeks I have been very excited. Why? The Ring? The baseball season? What? No! I am going to be on the radio this Saturday!!!

Photo: The Operavore logo. I am going to be on its show!

Image

This Saturday April 6th, I am going to be featured on WQXR’s Operavore Show. I was invited to discuss how I got into opera and what my turn-on was, and also how opera can attract younger audiences and fans. The show will air on April 6th at 12:30 PM on WQXR (105.9 FM in the New York area) before the broadcast of Das Rheingold at 1 PM. The show will also feature Metropolitan Opera bass James Morris and opera blogger and critic James Jorden. I am honored to be featured on the radio and would love to share that honor with you by your listening.

If you cannot listen to WQXR or you simply are not available to listen on Saturday, there is another option. Through WQXR’s website, you can listen to archived shows for up to 14 days. The show that I will be featured on will be available for two weeks on the website, so you can listen to it there. Here is the WQXR Operavore website: http://www.wqxr.org/#!/programs/operavore/

Photo: Me recording my segment at the WQXR studio

Image

It was an amazing experience recording in the WQXR studio. I got to know Elaine Warner, the producer of Operavore. When she called my cellphone and left a message that she was interested in doing a segment, I almost fell over because I had heard her voice on the radio for so long! She was very encouraging and gave me helpful tips on how to focus a radio audience. It was also fun to work with Naomi Lewin again, the host of the show. When I was interviewed on MetOpera Radio in March of 2007, Naomi created one of her fantastic Met-cameos for me. It has been on the air several times since I was interviewed. She is a such a creative, fun, and enthusiastic person who loves what she does.

It was a thrill for me to record on WQXR because my love of opera came through the radio (internet radio). Listen in on Saturday at 12:30 to hear the rest of my opera turn-on story and learn how young audiences can get into opera. Tune in!

Leave a Reply

